Metal Powder Society Names Fellows

APMI International, professional society for the powder metallurgy (PM) industry, has named William R. Gasbarre, marketing/sales director...


APMI International, professional society for the powder metallurgy (PM) industry, has named William R. Gasbarre, marketing/sales director, Gasbarre Products, Inc., DuBois, Pennsylvania, and Graham B. Schaffer, executive dean, University of Queensland, Faculty of Engineering, Brisbane, Australia, to the 2011 Class of Fellows. They received the award during PowderMet2011-2011: International Conference on Powder Metallurgy and Particulate Materials.

Gasbarre has devoted 38 years to the PM industry. As a member of the APMI Board of Directors (president 1998-2000 and director 1994-98), he was instrumental in the development of the APMI Fellow Award and the Train-the-Trainer program. He is a past-chairman of the West Penn APMI Chapter. A member of APMI International for 33 years, he continues to be an active member of the APMI Publications and Awards Committees. He is a member of the MPIF Technical Board and the Chairman of its Conference Committee. He has participated on many technical program committees for MPIF conferences, and was a co-chairman of PowderMet2006 in San Diego. He received the MPIF Distinguished Service to Powder Metallurgy Award in 2005.

Schaffer is an international authority on particulate materials processing, primarily focused on the light metals. His work has had significant academic and commercial impact, and has transformed the field of aluminum powder metallurgy. As executive dean, Faculty of Engineering, Architecture and Information Technology, the University of Queensland, (B.Sc. and M.Sc., University of Cape Town, South Africa, Ph.D., University of Birmingham, UK), Graham has devoted 27 years to the PM industry. He has led research teams on the powder processing of aluminum, titanium, iron, and steel, as well as intermetallics, composites, nanomaterials, and magnetic materials. A member of APMI International for over 16 years, Graham is an active member of the APMI International Liaison Committee. He has written over 100 articles and received five patents. He has served on numerous MPIF technical program committees and is executive editor of the journal Powder Metallurgy. He is a fellow of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering.

Established in 1998, the Fellow Award recognizes APMI members for their significant contributions to the society and high level of expertise in the technology of powder metallurgy, practice or business of the PM industry. Fellows are elected through their professional, technical and scientific achievements, continuing professional growth and development, mentoring/outreach, and contributions to APMI International chapters and committees.

For more information:

Metal Powder Industries Federation (MPIF)